Growing, handling or processing hemp without a state license is illegal
The U.S. Department of Agriculture has approved Nebraska’s hemp plan, so the state will begin taking license applications on Monday.
The Nebraska plan lays out the regulations and calls for the state to collect $236,000 in license fees to administer the program for 270 cultivator licenses, 30 processor-handler licenses and 15 broker licenses. It allows for 400 cultivation sites.
The Nebraska Agriculture Department would sample or require USDA-approved contractors to test plants within 15 days of the anticipated harvest date to ensure the THC level isn’t too high. THC is the cannabis compound that gives marijuana its high.
Growing, handling or processing hemp without a state license is illegal.
The 2018 farm bill removed hemp from a list of controlled substances. The bill requires states to set their own rules on how the hemp is grown, and the Nebraska Legislature passed regulations last year.